"Drawing all people into Christ."
On July 1, 1995, St. John the Baptist Parish, St. John and Sacred Heart Parish, Sherwood merged
to become the parish of St. John-Sacred Heart with each retaining its church site. In 1969, the
two parish schools consolidated to become St. John-Sacred Heart School.
St. John-Sacred Heart Parish’s proud heritage dates back to when the first settlers found their
way into the northern part of Calumet County, St. John – one of the most fertile farming districts in
Wisconsin. In the year 1862, they organized St. John the Baptist Parish and a school in the
village of St. John. The current brick church was built in 1871, becoming one of the finest
edifices in Northern Wisconsin.
In 2012, St. John Parish marked its 150th Anniversary. The interior of the 1871 church and
adjacent cemetery were beautifully restored through the generosity of many parishioners,
most descendants of the parish’s founding families. This church community continues today,
with fifth and sixth generation families farming the land of their ancestors.
The history of Sacred Heart Church is integrated with the founding and growth of the Village of
Sherwood. The first Catholic Church in Sherwood was St. Stephen Parish, built in 1871. At
the same time, land was also donated for a cemetery.
In 1886 a new church was built and became the parish of Sacred Heart of Jesus. As the 20 th
century began, the church structure was enlarged, and later a narthex added to the current
church building. In 1929, 14 stained glass masterpieces were imported from Austria and
continue to be the pride and joy of parishioners.
Today, St. John-Sacred Heart Parish is a tribute to its rich history and is served by
Pastor Rev. Michael E. Betley, who also serves as pastor for St. Mary of the Seven Dolors,
Stockbridge and St. Mary Help of Christians, Hilbert.